Maurice-Marie JANOT Award

The Maurice-Marie Janot Award recognizes an individual researcher, also in the context of a team, for her/his contributions to the field of Pharmaceutics, Biopharmaceutics and Pharmaceutical Technology.


2022 Maurice-Marie Janot Award Laureate: Jean-Christophe Leroux

Professor Jean-Christophe Leroux is a full professor of Drug Formulation and Delivery and head of the Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences at the ETH Zurich, Switzerland. He has made important fundamental and applied contributions to the fields of biomaterials and drug delivery, and has been involved in the development of innovative bio-detoxification systems for the treatment of metabolite disorders. He is a fellow of the AAPS, EURASC and the CRS, and the co-founder of the start-up pharmaceutical companies Versantis AG and Inositec AG.

2020 Maurice-Marie Janot Award Laureate: Robert Langer

Professor Robert Langer at the MIT receives the “2020 Maurice-Marie Janot Award”. This price recognizes an individual researcher, whose pioneering work has a groundbreaking impact in the fields of Pharmaceutics, Biopharmaceutics and Pharmaceutical Technology. The Jury is composed of 70 scientists from all over the world, who are known for their relevant contributions to the Pharmaceutical Sciences. Robert Langer is one of 12 Institute Professors at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT); being an Institute Professor is the highest honor that can be awarded to a faculty member. He has written nearly 1,500 articles, which have been cited over 300,000 times; his h-index of 272 is the highest of any engineer in history. He has more than 1,350 issued and pending patents worldwide. His patents have been licensed or sublicensed to over 400 companies. He served as Chairman of the FDA’s Science Board (its highest advisory board) from 1999-2002. His over 220 awards include both the United States National Medal of Science and the United States National Medal of Technology and Innovation (he is one of 4 living individuals to have received both these honors), the Charles Stark Draper Prize (often called the Engineering Nobel Prize), Albany Medical Center Prize, Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences, Kyoto Prize, Wolf Prize for Chemistry, Millennium Technology Prize, Priestley Medal (highest award of the American Chemical Society), Gairdner Prize, Dreyfus Prize in Chemical Sciences, Maurice Marie-Janot Award, and the Lemelson-MIT prize, for being “one of history’s most prolific inventors in medicine.” He holds 34 honorary doctorates and has been elected to the National Academy of Medicine, the National Academy of Engineering, the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Inventors.